Home ] SNW Back Issues ] Star Trek ] Study Guides ] Science Fiction Shops ] Railroadiana ] Celluloid Pins ]

Back Up Next



Hundreds of Children's Activity Books starting at just $1.50. See bargain activity books



More Teacher's Guides:
Chronicles of Narnia
C.S. Lewis' Space Trilogy
Enders Game Lesson Plans
Fahrenheit 451 Lesson Plans
Flowers for Algernon Lessons
Frankenstein Study Guides
The Giver Lesson Plans
Handmaid's Tale Study Guide
Harry Potter Study Guides
The Hobbit Study Guides
A Wrinkle in Time Study Guides
More Sci-Fi Lesson Plans
Science Fiction to teach Science
Shakespeare Study Guides
Newbery Medal Study Guides
Caldecott Medal Study Guides
Teach Classic Children's Tales
Pulitzer Prize Lesson Plans
American History Lesson Plans
Anne Frank Lesson Plans

Teacher's Study Guides and Lesson Plans for Newbery Medal Award-Winning Children's Books

See links below for study guides and lesson plans to use when teaching these award-winning books to your middle-school classes and for use in home-schooling. The Newbery Medal is awarded each year to the most distinguished contribution to children's literature published in the U.S.

Lesson Plans for Newbery Medal Winners:

bulletCrispin: Cross of Lead
bulletBud, Not Buddy Lesson Plans (2000 Newbery Medal)
bulletHoles (1999 Newbery Medal)
bulletOut of the Dust (1998 Newberry Medal*)
bulletThe View From Saturday (1997 Newbery Medal)
bulletThe Midwife's Apprentice (1996)
bulletWalk Two Moons (1995 Newberry Medal*)
bulletThe Giver (1994 Newbery Medal Winner)
bulletMissing May (1993)
bulletShiloh (1992 Newbery Medal)
bulletManiac Magee (1991)
bulletNumber the Stars (1990)
bulletHatchet (1988 Newbery Honor)
bulletThe Whipping Boy (1987)
bulletSarah, Plain and Tall (1985)
bulletSign of the Beaver (1984 Newbery Honor)
bulletBridge to Terabithia (1978)
bulletRoll of Thunder, Hear My Cry (1977)
bulletMy Brother Sam is Dead (1975 Newbery Honor)
bulletSounder (1970 Newbery Honor)
bulletFrom the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler (1967 Newbery Medal Winner)
bulletA Wrinkle in Time (1963)
bulletIsland of the Blue Dolphins (1961 Newbery Award)
bulletThe Cricket in Times Square (1961 Newbery Honor)
bulletThe Witch of Blackbird Pond (1959 Newbery)
bulletOld Yeller (1957 Honor Book)
bulletCharlotte's Web (1953 honor winner)
bulletJohnny Tremain (1944)


Cliff Notes for 1990s Newberry Winners Cliffs Notes provides background on the authors, summaries, character descriptions and character maps, plus class activities and review exercises for each of the 10 Newberry winners from the 1990s : Holes, Out of the Dust, View from Saturday, Midwife's Apprentice, Walk Two Moons, The Giver, Missing May, Shiloh, Maniac Magee, Number the Stars.


Back Up Next

Home SNW Back Issues Star Trek Study Guides Science Fiction Shops Railroadiana Celluloid Pins • 5591 Shady Brook Trail • Sarasota FL 34243 • USA
Page last updated July 18, 2011
Site designed by Jo Davidsmeyer
privacy policy

Copyright 1992 - 2011 by Strange New Worlds. All rights reserved.