Back Up Next



Hundreds of Children's Activity Books starting at just $1.50. See bargain activity books



More Teacher's Guides:
Chronicles of Narnia
C.S. Lewis' Space Trilogy
Enders Game Lesson Plans
Fahrenheit 451 Lesson Plans
Flowers for Algernon Lessons
Frankenstein Study Guides
The Giver Lesson Plans
Handmaid's Tale Study Guide
Harry Potter Study Guides
The Hobbit Study Guides
A Wrinkle in Time Study Guides
More Sci-Fi Lesson Plans
Science Fiction to teach Science
Shakespeare Study Guides
Newbery Medal Study Guides
Caldecott Medal Study Guides
Teach Classic Children's Tales
Pulitzer Prize Lesson Plans
American History Lesson Plans
Anne Frank Lesson Plans

Study Guides and Lesson Plans for Science Fiction Classics
C. S. Lewis' Space Trilogy

About Out of the Silent Planet:
The first book in C. S. Lewis's acclaimed Space Trilogy, which continues with Perelandra and That Hideous Strength, Out of the Silent Planet begins the adventures of the remarkable Dr. Ransom. Here, that estimable man is abducted by aliens and taken via spaceship to the red planet of Malacandra. Once on the planet, he eludes his captors, risking his life and his chances of returning to Earth. First published in 1943, Out of the Silent Planet remains a mysterious and suspenseful tour de force from one of our best-love writers.
Check price at Amazon for Out of the Silent Planet

Out of the Silent Planet Study Guide

A course for the C.S. Lewis classic Out of the Silent Planet. Easy-to-use, reproducible lessons on literary terms, comprehension and analysis, critical thinking, related scriptural principles, vocabulary, activities, plus a complete answer key.
Ring-bound: 46 pages
Check price at Amazon for Out of the Silent Planet Study Guide


About Perelandra:
The second book in C. S. Lewis's acclaimed Space Trilogy, which includes Out of the Silent Planet and That Hideous Strength, Perelandra continues the adventures of the extraordinary Dr. Ransom. Pitted against that greatest of human weaknesses, temptation, the great man must battle evil on a new world -- Perelandra -- when it is invaded by the Devil's agent. Will Perelandra succumb to the Devil's influence, or will it throw off the yoke of corruption and achieve a spiritual perfection as yet unknown to man? The outcome of Dr. Ransom's mighty struggle will alone determine its fate.
Perelandra Study Guide

Ring-bound: 66 pages
Check price at Amazon for Perelandra Study Guide

About That Hideous Strength:
The final book in C.S. Lewis's acclaimed Space Trilogy, That Hideous Strength concludes the adventures of the matchless Dr. Ransom. Finding himself in a world of superior alien beings and scientific experiments run amok, Dr. Ransom struggles with questions of ethics and morality, applying age-old wisdom to a brave new universe dominated by science. His quest for truth is a journey filled with intrigue and suspense.


Planets in Peril: A Critical Study of C.S. Lewis's Ransom Trilogy Paperback: ; Dimensions (in inches): 0.58 x 9.01 x 5.79
Publisher: Univ. of Massachusetts Press;  (September 1995)
ISBN: 087023997X

The only book-length discussion of Lewis' romantic space trilogy. Written by David C. Downing, a teacher of English at Elizabethtown College.


Books about
C.S. Lewis:

The Magic Never Ends: The Life and Works of C.S. Lewis (Student's Guide)

In Association with

See also:
WWII history for young readers

Back Up Next